Birlinn General
FORMAT: Paperback
ISBN: 9781846974038
RRP: £8.99
PAGES: 288
PUBLICATION DATE: September 1, 2017


After the Dance: Selected Stories of Iain Crichton Smith

By (author) Iain Crichton-Smith; Edited by Alan Warner

As a child Iain Crichton Smith was raised speaking Gaelic on the island of Lewis. At school in Stornoway he spoke English. Like many islanders before and since, his culture was divided: two languages and two histories entailing exile. His divided perspective delineated the tyranny of history and religion, of the cramped life of small communities, and gave him a compassionate eye for the struggle of women and men in a world defined by denials. After the Dance proves that big themes – love, history, power, submission, death – can be addressed without the foil of irony and acquire resonance when given a local habitation and a voice that risks pure, humane, impassioned speech. This new edition contains the story ‘Home’.

Share this