Cover of The Walrus Mutterer



FORMAT: Paperback
ISBN: 9781912235087
RRP: £8.99
PAGES: 240
PUBLICATION DATE: March 21, 2018


The Walrus Mutterer

Mandy Haggith

Northern Britain, Iron Age. Rian, a carefree young woman known for her healing and cooking skills, is enslaved by a powerful local trader and taken aboard a vessel for a long and perilous voyage. Their quest: to find precious walrus ivory and amber – sources of untold wealth and influence. They’re soon joined by a mysterious, ambitious stranger known as Pytheas the Greek, who claims to be seeking riches from the North to bring back to his native land.

In the first volume of this extraordinary, imaginative trilogy, Mandy Haggith takes us back to prehistoric times and opens the way for an intergenerational saga ranging from the Sub-Arctic to the Mediterranean.

As visceral as it is gripping, The Walrus Mutterer introduces an unforgettable cast of characters. It’s a stunning achievement from an award-winning novelist and poet.

The Walrus Mutterer was longlisted for the Highland Book Prize 2018.

The second book in the series – The Amber Seeker –  is published in March 2019.

Share this