Categories

A Tomb With a View: The Stories and Glories of Graveyards

ABOUT THIS BOOK

PUBLISHER:

Headline Publishing Group
FORMAT: Hardback
ISBN: 9781472267795
RRP: £20.00
PAGES: 368
PUBLICATION DATE: September 3, 2020

CATEGORIES

A Tomb With a View: The Stories and Glories of Graveyards

By (author) Peter Ross

‘His stories are always a joy’ – Ian Rankin’I’m a card-carrying admirer of Peter Ross’ – Robert MacfarlaneFor readers of The Salt Path, Mudlarking, Ghostland, Kathleen Jamie and Robert Macfarlane.Enter a grave new world of fascination and delight as award-winning writer Peter Ross uncovers the stories and glories of graveyards. Who are London’s outcast dead and why is David Bowie their guardian angel? What is the remarkable truth about Phoebe Hessel, who disguised herself as a man to fight alongside her sweetheart, and went on to live in the reigns of five monarchs? Why is a Bristol cemetery the perfect wedding venue for goths?All of these sorrowful mysteries – and many more – are answered in A Tomb With A View, a book for anyone who has ever wandered through a field of crooked headstones and wondered about the lives and deaths of those who lie beneath.So push open the rusting gate, push back the ivy, and take a look inside…

Share this