Scottish Books Long Weekend




Penguin Books Ltd
FORMAT: Paperback
ISBN: 9780141046921
RRP: £8.99
PAGES: 352
PUBLICATION DATE: March 13, 2010


Stars and Bars

By (author) William Boyd

“Stars and Bars” by novelist William Boyd is one of the comic masterpieces. All Henderson Dores dreams of is fitting in. But America, land of the loony millionaire and the subway poet, down-home Bible-basher and sharp-suited hood, of paralysing personal frankness and surreally fantasized facilities, is hard enough for an Englishman to fit in to. Henderson could never shed enough inhibitions to become just another weirdo. Or could he? This hilarious fish-out-of-water comedy, which Boyd also adapted for screen for the 1980s film starring Daniel Day Lewis, was described in the “Guardian” as, ‘Splittingly shrewd and engaging …with an extra and uneasy little something fretting away at the ribald content’. “Stars and Bars” will be loved by fans of “Any Human Heart” and “A Good Man in Africa”, as well as readers of David Nicholls, Sebastian Faulks, Nick Hornby and Hilary Mantel. “The wry laughter never stops …the shrewdest pages yet from a master of witty manipulation”. (“Observer”). William Boyd has received world-wide acclaim for his novels.They are: “A Good Man in Africa” (1981, winner of the Whitbread Award and the Somerset Maugham Prize), “An Ice Cream War” (1982, shortlisted for the 1982 Booker Prize and winner of the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize), “Stars and Bars” (1984), “The New Confessions” (1987), “Brazzaville Beach” (1990, winner of the McVitie Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize), “The Blue Afternoon” (1993, winner of the 1993 “Sunday Express” Book of the Year Award and the “Los Angeles Times” Book Award for Fiction, 1995), “Armadillo” (1998) and “Any Human Heart” (2002, winner of the Prix Jean Monnet). He is also the author of a collection of screenplays and a memoir of his schooldays, “School Ties” (1985); and three collections of short stories: “On the Yankee Station” (1981), “The Destiny of Nathalie ‘X'” (1995) and “Fascination” (2004). He also wrote the speculative memoir of his schooldays, “School Ties” (1985); three collections of short stories: “On the Yankee Station” (1981), “The Destiny of Nathalie ‘X'” (1995) and “Fascination” (2004).He also wrote the speculative memoir “Nat Tate: an American Artist” – the publication of which, in the spring of 1998, caused something of a stir on both sides of the Atlantic. A collection of his non-fiction writings, 1978-2004, entitled “Bamboo”, was published in October 2005. His ninth novel, “Restless”, was published in September 2006 (Costa Book Award, Novel of the Year 2006) and his tenth novel, “Ordinary Thunderstorms”, published September 2009. His most recent novel is “Waiting For Sunrise” which published in February 2011.

Share this